Journal Entry

In the same way as these to characters, I want my wildcard to truly showcase a time in my life that was trying, but I made the decision to rise above and beat it. One of the best examples I can think of was between 8th grade and high school where I really didn’t know who I was and was confused with what I wanted to do for the rest of my life. I felt like I had just sat around and done nothing with my talents an abilities. That summer, I took a leap of faith and took a trip to Guatemala to serve. I had no idea what I was getting into, but that time truly began my journey into the person that I am today.

I am very interested in showcasing this in my wildcard, because it is such an influential part of my life and really mirrors the leap of faith that I have taken, much like these characters in my portfolio. I think that the best way to showcase this is by compiling pictures from my trip into a video. Through this medium, others can see a trip that has truly changed the course of my life.

This trip also comes full circle and plays into my biography, because while on one of my three trips to Guatemala, I experienced my one moment that truly changed my perspective and altered the course of my life. While I was in Guatemala, I visited a hospital that dealt exclusively with patients who had severe mental or physical problems. While in this hospital, I came in contact with a boy who was able to put my life in perspective in a matter of moments. He had cerebral palsy and was trying to escape from his crib. He kept pointing outside, dying to escape. Looking into his eyes and seeing the pain really allowed me to see how privileged I am to have the abilities I do and also really urged me to go into a life of medicine, that I might change the lives of children like this little boy. After these few minutes with this boy, I made my decision—my leap of faith–that now spurs me on as I chase my dreams of one day being part of the medical community.

Leave a Reply

